completed
Fund 7+8 Campaign
Current Project Status
Complete
Amount
Received
$12,690
Amount
Requested
$12,690
Percentage
Received
100.00%
Solution

TBA

Problem
Addresses Challenge
Feasibility
Auditability

TrustLevel

2 members

Fund 7+8 Campaign

(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=josSLLQKZZ4&ab_channel=IOHK)

_______ I M P A C T _______

<u>How does this proposal fit into this challenge?</u>

Despite a very active Community around Cardano, Project Catalyst is still very unknown. Raising awareness about Catalyst through a marketing campaign will increase meaningful participation and attract new entrepreneurs from the community and from outside the Cardano ecosystem, which is the primary goal of this challenge 'Proposer Outreach'.

<u>How will this campaign add value to our ecosystem?</u>

Currently Catalyst has about 30k+ members on Ideascale. The goal is to grow to 100k members by the end of 2021 (see town hall video of April 21st). This campaign is going to reach +250k views and +15k clicks and interactions. Therefore, this campaign will have a huge impact in reaching the set goals and will help our community to grow not only in size but also in quality, because the campaign will also support entrepreneurs to create successful proposals (see more details below).

<u>Outlook and future challenges?</u>

This proposal includes the possibility to apply for further funding in the future. Since the content (video and landing page) is already created then, the funds can be used more efficiently to leverage our contribution in order to reach the set goals (100k by end of 2021).

______ F E A S I B L I T Y _______

BUILDING A SUCCESSFUL ONLINE MARKETING CAMPAIGN

A successful online marketing campaign consists of two key elements:

  1. increase awareness through great content
  2. a strong call-to-action plan

Great content is the foundation of any online campaign. But the reach and therefore the success of the campaign depends mainly on the way in which the content is implemented and whether the attention can be turned into call-to-action. Therefore, the creation of content, the generation of traffic and the call-to-action part must be linked together.

CONTENT CREATION

1)Trailer

A short 30 second video clip (see Fund 6 trailer)

  1. Landing page

As Ideascale might be an overwhelming experience for newcomers, the trailer will link to a short landing page that will introduce the Catalyst process and also link to important resources like documents and other community sites. It also contains a strong call-to-action by encouraging entrepreneurs to propose their ideas on Catalyst and providing assistance to do so successfully. Furthermore, the landing page will give us the opportunity to measure and analyze the traffic which is important to run a campaign successfully.

CAMPAIGN STRATEGY

Great content will eventually be found organically, but we should obviously do everything we can to make sure our video gets the attention it deserves. That's why a paid ad strategy is important to get the reach we want. For this purpose YouTube ads are a perfect channel to raise awareness about Project Catalyst. This channel reaches 90% of internet users worldwide and has a very active crypto community. The given options for setting a campaign on this channel enable us to effectively reach our target group, because the trailer will be shown next to blockchain-related content. A further advantage of YouTube is the low cost-per-click ratio. And thanks to real-time tracking, adjustments in the campaign can be made at any time.

ORGANIC REACH

In addition, we as a community can share (post/retweet) the created video on other social media channels (Twitter, LinkedIn, Facebook, Instagram, Tiktok, etc) to expand the impact of this campaign. I also encourage the community to contact me if there are other use-cases for the video.

TEAM

Dominik: campaign management, story board

Experience: 10+ years in marketing, 4+ years as entrepreneur and business consultant

Website-link: see proposal description

Thomas: video creation

Experience: Conception, design and composting for more than 100 trailer for Animal Planet, Discovery Channel, etc

LinkedIn-profile: <https://www.linkedin.com/in/thomaszuchtriegel/>

BUDGET

The budget is divided in two parts: content creation and advertisement

<u>Content creation: $2.610</u>

Video trailer (incl. ideation, storyboard, effects, editing, cutting, sound): 30 hours a $45 = $1.350

Landing page (incl. content, design, hosting, SEO): 42 hours a $30 = $1.260

<u>Budget for Advertisement: $10.080</u>

YouTube Ads: $300 per day for 28 days = $8.400

Campaign Management: 56 hours a $30 (2h per day for 28 days): $1.680

____ A U D I T A B I L I T Y _____

ROADMAP

<u>1 month after funding:</u>

Voting results are expected to be announce at the beginning of November, followed by the launch of Fund 7 directly afterwards. As it takes some weeks until the rewards are distributed, we will launch an 'organic' Fund 7 campaign based on the already created trailer for Fund 6. Therefore, we will share the Fund 7 trailer on various social media platforms (Twitter, YouTube, LinkedIn, etc.) in collaboration with IOG and Cardano Foundation.

<u>2-3 months after funding:</u>

In regards for the Fund 8 campaign, which is expected to launch in February, we will place ads yon YouTube in addition to the 'organic' campaign to increase significantly the reach of the campaign. We will also create an update for the trailer to show something new to the world.

TRANSPARENCY

After each campaign, we will publish any figure that is related to the success of the campaign. This information will be available on public community sites (like projectcatalyst.org) and on my website (link in proposal description).

METRICS & KPIs

The goal of this campaign is to raise awareness about Project Catalyst among the Cardano Community and the blockchain industry. The following metrics and indicators will measure the success of this campaign. The targeted figures are based on experience and are to be regarded as realistic.

<u>Media coverage:</u>

  • Total views of ads: min. 250k
  • Total clicks: min. 15k
  • Landing page visitors: min. 20k
  • Landing page interactions: min. 250 (measured as subscription or using contact form)

<u>Participation in Catalyst:</u>

  • Increase the number of submitted proposals
  • Increase the quality of submitted proposals (average CA rating)
  • Total number of voters (registered wallets and registered ADA)

_______ F A Q _______

<u>How do we reach the right target group?</u>

Reaching the right audience needs to be carefully built up. The best way to ensure this, is to track conversions which mean that we constantly monitor the impact of different keywords. With the landing page as second part of the campaign, we can easily track with different metrics if we attract the right people. Also we are currently asking Ideascale what data they can provide us because they can see the activities of new users who sign up through our campaign (e.g. how many new accounts are created, etc.).

<u>Why only YouTube ads?</u>

Yes, there are other ways for online marketing. In my experience, YouTube and Google Ads are a very good way to start building a campaign in most cases. Results are easy to manage and costs are much lower compared to other channels. I chose YouTube over Google Ads because video content reinforces the memory of the content being conveyed much more than text or photos. And since we have already created a trailer, this will increase the effectiveness of the funding.

I will limit myself to one channel here because it takes time to build a campaign. Every campaign is different and you always have to check again the effect of the different keywords. If you don't make this properly you can easily waste money which of course we want to avoid. So if you divide the budget between different channels, the overall impact of the campaign will decrease because you have less budget to use the collected data and feedback for improvements.

<u>How do ad blockers affect the campaign?</u>

Many people are not familiar with the mechanism of online marketing. The answer here is simple: ad blockers don't affect the reach of the campaign, because you only pay per view or per click (depending on the campaign settings). So for example: Your ad budget is $100 and the cost per click is $1. Then YouTube shows the video to as many users as it takes to reach the 100 clicks. So if someone blocks ads in general, it won't affect the reach. It just means that you don't reach everybody. Which is acceptable, because the target group is much larger than our budget for ad spendings. In addition, this video will be shared on different social media channels. So eventually we will reach those people organically.

____ H A P P Y __ V O T I N G ____

Let's grow together and thus positively influence the development and adoption of Cardano.

Thank you for your votes!

.

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